• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Portland to Conway Ski Trains?

BenedictGomez

The internet will resolve much of the commuter transportation problems/congestion. Twenty years from now, far more people will be working from home.

Hell, I work in finance and I can do 97.5% of my job from home. Really 100%, if you don't count "meetings", and if you even want to nit-pick that, meetings could be conducted via split-screren Skype or some form of online meeting vendor.

This trend's exacerbation will be fueled primarily by cost-savings at first, but then as older, more "people-facing friendly" workers retire they'll be replaced with young people who are far more apt to be comfortable with low human interaction/involvement.

VTKilarney

No doubt all sorts of well heeled property owners along the route will object. Here is a pretty comprehensive study of the Portland to North Conway stretch: http://www.maine.gov/mdot/ofbs/documents/pdf/MtnDivExecutiveSummary_001.pdf

Frankly, if the Sunday River ski train was not viable, I don't see how this train will be.

As an aside, there is a rail line that is almost entirely overgrown that runs from St. Johnsbury to Whitefield, NH that I wish would be opened up to recreational use.

Newpylong

I'd love to see someone figure out how to offer a local light rail service in my area on the NH seacoast. We've got a decent bus system servicing the region, but it's underutilized. I think part of the reason it is, is because people are impatient. The timing of the stops varies by 15 minutes or so based upon traffic in the few times I've used it.