• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Choosing a ski jacket

Nick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.alpinezone.com
Looking to dump the North Face shell I've been using for a few years. I'd like at least the following features:

Powder skirt
Vent zips in pits
Gore-tex 3-layer
Shell (I will layer underneath it)
Fits well, I can't stand big puffy jackets
Great hood design
Slightly longer, but not ridiculously long.. just enough to keep coverage when I'm moving around.

I was looking at some new Arctery'x, Patagonia, and North Face. I'm having a tough time though just because there are so many models.

Ideally I'd like to stay under $350 - $400.

Arctery'x has several models in the price range (well... maybe slighly above!) and I'm having a helluva time figuring out the differences between them.

Alpha LT
Beta AR
Stingray
Theta AR

No idea what the real differences here are...

On the Patagonia side, most look pre-insulated, except for maybe the Super Alpine jacket, but that one is > $500

North Face... presently I'm on a Summit Series

o3jeff

Go to a jacket fitter and find out what fits YOU properly! :wink:

I just bought a jacket and found a lot of the stuff out there is designed around a 6+ foot tall skinny guys.

Nick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.alpinezone.com
There are jacket fitters? Specifically? LIke a boot fitter?

Anyone have any suggestions in the Worcester area of a good place to go try some on?

wa-loaf

There are jacket fitters? Specifically? LIke a boot fitter?

Anyone have any suggestions in the Worcester area of a good place to go try some on?