• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

New Boots: Dalbello Krypton Cross I.D.

Nick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.alpinezone.com
Hola amigos

Well, I finally got a new pair of boots.

I've been running around for the better part of 10 years (since 1999, I think) on these babies:

IMAG0051.jpg

Nordica Trend T-51

I bought them a long time ago in CT simply by walking into a ski shop, grabbing the box in my size, paying for them and walking out the door. I think I paid less than $200 for those boots. Maybe even less than $150.

They served me well for many years, but I never knew what I was missing. I always put my gear $$ into things like skis... never boots. And now I know I was making a huge mistake. My boots always had a lot of play in the foot that made, in particular, skiing in technically challenge areas (moguls, glades) difficult. I would often wear very thick ski socks to try to accomodate the loose fitting boot.

Finally had enough, headed over to Suburban Sports, and Peter (skidmarks) helped me out with a new pair of what I think are super awesome Dalbello Krypton Cross I.D.'s
IMAG0052.jpg

I liked the fact that these boots have the lower hinge point... Peter helped explain that for my all-mountain kind of skiing, it would be a better fit.

Then we went into bootfitting. Which, again, I had never done before. Got some A-lines and had the boots head-molded to my foot. I didn't realize I was such a huge pronator. I've been running for years and never even analyzed my foot type. But after all was said and done, I went home and tried on a Nordica T-51 on my left foot and the Dalbello boot on my right foot, and holy crap... what a difference!