• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Eddie Bauer and First Ascent Gear

thetrailboss

Staff member
Last night I came home to find a catalog from Eddie Bauer's "First Ascent" Line. It came about a week after the Cabela's men's and LL Bean Spring Gear catalogs.

Eddie Bauer has been one of those brands that just can't seem to decide what it is. :dontknow: When I was younger, it was basically an LL Bean without the gear. Then they seemed to go into just clothing and became like just another Gap. I recall when I graduated college I needed a job and I interviewed with the Eddie Bauer store at the Burlington Mall. The manager agreed with me that the "Eddie Bauer" brand was really having an identity crisis.

Well, years later, and after a bankruptcy filing, it looks like they are going more into gear and are becoming a combination of LL Bean, Cabelas, and even REI. The catalog I got has technical tents,, some technical sleeping bags,, technical backpacks and even avi gear. Their technical clothing looks legit. Hell, they even announced that they are starting a hunting gear line.

So do any of you have any of this new EB gear? How is it? Have you been to a store lately? Thoughts? I have not been to one in a year or so, but this looks interesting. I wonder if it will fly considering that most folks consider EB to be another mall clothing store.

TheBEast

They've got a great blog http://blog.firstascent.com/ I've been following for a couple of years. I don't have any of their gear, but the athletes they've got testing the stuff and designing it are world class, Ed Viesturs among others. Looks like great technical stuff. Plus I've got a secret crush on Melissa Arnot.....oh guess that's not so secret any more ;-)

thetrailboss