• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

zero degree sleeping bags

gmcunni

Are all bags created equal?

the thought of driving up night before and catching some ZZZs in the parking lot intrigues me as much of my skiing lately is day tripping. a google search of "zero degree sleeping bags" shows a wide range of pricing, Coleman @ $40 up to Marmot @ like $380. Are the more expensive bags worth it?

Cannonball

Like everything... yes to a point. You don't need the absolute most expensive. At that price point you are paying for brand and for weight that isn't important for car camping. But don't go cheap either.

I have a zero degree EMS poly fill bag, and a zero degree Marmot down bag. They are equally warm. I bought the EMS for car camping years ago but decided I didn't like lugging it on backcountry trips so I bought the light weight Marmot bag. But to tell the truth, I've actually carried the EMS for more miles than the Marmot and it never broke my back.

Decide on some priorities about weight, chance of wet, and comfort. Then find a good reliable brand in your price range and you'll be good.

gmcunni

thanks, weight and waterproof won't matter to me. this would strictly be for the rare occasion of an overnight for skiing in the back of the SUV.

Cannonball

Also don't underestimate the insulation (and comfort) of something underneath you. This is more true on the ground than in a car because the cold earth has a lot of thermal inertia working against you. But even in the car there is the problem that you are compressing the loft of your bag underneath you. So at least get a pad to sleep on. But really, you're in your SUV, so you might as well be comfortable AND warm and sleep on a full air mattress.

wtcobb