• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Real football

skiNEwhere

Who's been watching the World Cup?

I've been hearing for many years that soccer would catch on in this county, and it looks like it finally has.

ctenidae

I think it has caught on about as well as it did during the '94 World Cup...

I watch about 20 minutes a day, at lunch, in the office lunchroom.

Hawkshot99

I dont know how much soccer has caught on. It seams that whenever the USA is playing in a top level tourny there is a strong following, such as Olympic hockey, or World Cup.

For instance I do not follow international sports to well. I do follow USA International sports though.

ctenidae

I will say that watching the games has been enjoyable, though I doubt I will start watching any soccer with any regularity. I don't watch or follow any other sports at all, though, so probably not a good test case.

darent

first game I watched was 90 minutes and 0 to 0. boring watching ball go back and forth.to me TV has ruined sports, but I will say the soccer was all motion and not destroyed by countless ads

mriceyman

The best tournament in the world in any sport. And the upsets this year make it that much better.

Sent from my iPhone using AlpineZone

dlague

We have watched many games not just the USA! Of course we are cheering for the U.S. On Tuesday!

i typed with my i thumbs using AlpineZone

mriceyman

It's definitely true that since the world cup started Americans have been glued to the TV.... Watching something other than the world cup.

Not trying to start a fight but it was the most watched game by us for a world cup game ever. Almost 25 million people saw the game so don't be naive and act like it doesn't exist.

mriceyman