• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

I've been paying my neighbor's electric bill.

Tin

So last month our electric bill was triple what it has been at previous apartments. Our downstairs neighbor stated they had an issue with National Grid in that they have been doing "estimates" based on previous years and calculating your electric bill that way (their bill went from $137 a month down to about $40). Suspecting this was the issue I contacted National Grid, come to find out in our three apartment house there are only two meters. So we have been paying the third floor's electrical bill for the past 11 months (and possibly all the common areas). Just cutting bills in half this is well over $700 (I'm a poor graduate student so that is equal to two season passes lol). But it's much more than half, for example we are not home most weekends in the summer and our upstairs neighbors have two A/C units running and even when we are home we avoid using the A/C.

Our landlord, who has been great, is pinning this on the third floor tenants who have it in their lease that heat and electric is included. The tenants are blaming it on the landlord and round we go. I've never had this sort of issue before and am curious what others would view as a possible solution. I will refuse to just split the bill history in half (we are paying about 3 times what we used to for electric in similar apartments and are very conservative with our electricity) and not to mention we are paying for the common areas which include some spotlights and a washer and dryer that three tenants have been using for the past 11 months. Our lease is up August 15th and we had already planned to renew prior to this.

Any input?

Puck it