• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Snowboard death sparks lawsuit

cdskier

I'm not a lawyer, but I really can't see that there's a case here. I have my Sugarbush pass on my desk in front of me and the warning about risk is very broad. (Risks include, but are not limited to: changing weather and visibility; varied terrain and/or snow conditions; bare spots; stumps; rocks; trees; and collisions with other participants, natural and man-made objects such as snowmaking, grooming, lift , and other operational objects and/or slope vehicles.)

I think to win a case like this you need to prove some sort of severe negligence on the part of the resort. Failure to groom out a snowmaking whale (or even explicitly provide a warning that one might exist) doesn't seem to fall in that category.

Domeskier

That guy - the one who insisted, without a single shred of evidence and in contravention of universal usage and the dictates of common sense, that "snowmaking whales" were, as matter of etymological fact, "snowmaking wales" - that guy ought to submit an amicus brief in this case.

Not Sure

Website
www.youtube.com
Would the same result happened if he was a Skier? Is Snowboarding more inherently more dangerous than Skiing ? Having both feet in effect immobilized sliding uncontollably would be nightmare stuff !Having 2 edges on an icy trail vs one seems to me to be safer. Snowboarding Tuckerman is no easy feet so the guy had skills. Some AZ er's do both maybe I'm just speculating as I only Ski but curious from a Boarders point. Also having a pole in ones hand could help re direct trajectory or brake albeit slightly.

Jully