• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

How do you pick a ski size?

skijay

I need skis. I have been blading for about 5 yrs and have each season have bought new Salomon SnowBlades, but this season I want to try skiing again.

I was an advanced skier, last skiing on 203CM straight skis. I have been out of the ski shopping scene for about 5yrs. I want to get a pair of shaped.

I will either buy a pair of demos or used. Leasing is out. All that I have found is entry level equipment. I have found some skis that I am interested in, but am not sure what size to go with.

How do you pick a ski size??? I ski on 100cm Salomon blades and I was told at the ski shop that for a pair of Salomon 1080 skis (this is what I am looking to buy) I could go with a 160cm.

I am 5'10 and weigh about 160lbs. 160cm sounds skind of short.

Thanks,

Tim

hummm. i am 6'1" @ 210 lbs and one of my skis mesure 160. cm.
Sj. What type of skiing do you mostly do?
I know that we all cant afford more than one pair of skis.
The skis i use go like this.
For all around Skiing i ski the Head 1100SW @177cm 16.6m TR.
For High speed A salomon "New raceing" team GS ski @187cm. 21m TR.
For powder days and skiing trees and bumps A Line FX7.3 Ti. @ 175 cm. Tr.?
for teaching and short raidous turns an Atomic SL-9 @ 160cm. TR.11m
The best way to figure out what to get is DEMO-DEMO-DEMO!
Find a shop that will let you put the cost of a demo toward the purchace of a new ski.
or check you local Mtn. and see when they are having an on snow demo.
One thing don't get a ski just because a "Friend" says it is the best.
That is just plain foolish. Get ouy and find out for your self.
and have fun demoing.
Paul.

riverc0il

Website
www.thesnowway.com