• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Which way? Loading Ski's onto Roof Ski Rack?

R

RichTJ99

I was curious, which way I should load skis onto the rack. With the picture below the left side is the front of the car. Which way do the skis go? Tips facing front, up or down? Or facing down? Im a little lost on the best way to mount it.

Its my first time with a rack.

2242_z.jpg

teachski

Website
teachski.com
I've always been told to mount them with the tips to the rear so that wind does not catch under them and push them either up or down(more aerodynamic). I always keep the skis together. I only mount them on top without using a bag or at the minimum a binding cover when I am going a short distance. In the bag you don't have to worry which way they are facing or about road dirt getting into the bindings or at the edges.

tirolerpeter

Which way on Rack?

The rack in the picture looks to be the type that allows the skis to be mated base to base. I would definitely mount them tails forward to cut aerodynamic forces looking to lift them or push them down. Think of the tips as tail-feathers on an arrow. Of course, I don't know that it would matter with double ended skis. Of course, you should use a binding cover. Unfortunately, in years of using them I found that unless I duct taped them on the windward lip, a lot of crap still got into the skis. I now use my Thule box if there are more than two of us traveling. It protects the skis, keeps the dirt and water out of the car, and actually provides extra cargo space for "soft packed" gear which we toss on top of the skis in the box. There is a fuel mileage penalty of 3 - 4 mpg with the box, but when we share the cost of the trip it becomes insignificant.

teachski

Website