• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Does size matter?

R

Rob sebenza

When i started out skiing in 1984 i was on 180s..then in 1990 i went up to 195, now in 2005 im on 178 volkls, but i keep seeing people going real real short. It almost looks silly. Im 6"1 245 lbs and an advanced skier, would 160s be to short. Thanks for the replys.

ALLSKIING

Staff member
Rob sebenza said:
When i started out skiing in 1984 i was on 180s..then in 1990 i went up to 195, now in 2005 im on 178 volkls, but i keep seeing people going real real short. It almost looks silly. Im 6"1 245 lbs and an advanced skier, would 160s be to short. Thanks for the replys.
I am 6"1 and 220 and ski 188. I am not an expert in this but I would think 160s would be to short.

awf170

ya 160 would be too short im 5 8 and i ski on a 165. I would say like 175-180 would be good but it depends on thr type of terrian u ski too.

skidbump

i demo'ed the atomic metron b5 at 162 ..at first i thought they were to short but the were perfect..i ski on a rossi zenith5 at 170 and they work fine also have k2 axis"for cruisin" that work great at 181's all worked great for me ..i am 5'8" 230 advanced skier..so there does that confuse ya or what..what it is demo,demo,demo...not all skis are the same one may be great at 160 the othe may be at 180...no set rule...this is only my opinion..

ps
i started on 170 worked up to 204 now on 170 all in the span of 30 yrs

riverc0il

Website
www.thesnowway.com