• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Need help planning hiking trip

J

jilhrt2

:p Hi everyone. I am somewhat new to adventurous hiking/backpacking. But am looking to seriously get started this summer. Although I've always hiked, I've never gone on a backpacking excursion for a few days. My friend and I are looking to take about 4 days (August 11-15) this summer for a hiking trip. I am currently in CT and she is in RI. We are looking for anywhere in NY, MA or CT to go. Any suggestions on trips would be appreciated. :idea:

P

Paradox

Try THIS.........if you want a challenge:)

If you want some serious action in NY, resist the urge to climb Marcy and check out Giant and Rocky Peak Ridge. Giant tips the scales at 4627' and Rocky Peak Ridge weighs in around 4500 or so. The two peaks are connected and when climbed from Route 9 on the East Trail may give you the most punishing 8 mile climb in the east.