• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Novice Hiker

T

Torwadeo

Hi
I am going to start hiking and I have never really been, so I am new to the whole experience. Can anyone offer some nice day hikes in or near MA to get me started. Also any links to articles offering suggestions on what you need to bring with you and stuff would be helpful.

Thanks

-Bob

Mohamed Ellozy

Website
home.earthlink.net
Hiking in the Boston area

Bob,

Massachusetts is a big state, since you do not say where you are I'll assume you are from the Greater Boston area (and are probably unaware that the state extends beyond Rt 128).

An excellent guide to hiking in the Boston area is Boston Hiking Guide (with MBTA info). I have written pages on hiking in the Blue Hills and Middlesex Fells.

I hope that someone else will fill you in on the stuff you need to bring and so forth.

And welcome to the wonderful world of hiking!

T

Torwadeo

Thanks for the info

Thanks for the great info. I am located just outside Boston and would be willing to drive approx 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Right now I am looking for some nice 3 to 6 mile hikes that would not be too challenging since I have no experience.

pedxing

The Blue Hills and the Fells are great places to go.

If you want to go a bit farther afield, the Wapac Trail, especially Miller State Park with the peaks Pack Monadnock and North Pack are fun for a day-hike.
Check out: http://www.nhparks.state.nh.us/ParksPages/Miller/Miller.html and http://www.wapack.org/

North of Boston, Harold Parker State Forest in Andover is an alternative to the Fells. Check out http://www.state.ma.us/dem/parks/harp.htm and you can follow the links to other MA State Parks and Forests.