• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Season Pass Holder???

Rushski

Seems like a simple question, but would like some input from the many skiers/boarders who have had more passes than me.

Sunapee only gave me a lanyard and said the zipcords will be coming soon. Lanyard is tough to keep visible for scans and at the same time secured so It doesn't hit me in the face or possibly fly away.

Do people prefer the armband style holders or zipcords? Armband seems decent as it keeps it out of the way, but can they be scanned easily?

BeanoNYC

I just had this conversation with a woman at Attitash today. It seems that the armbands will scan .... most of the time. I use a zipcord for mine though.

thetrailboss

Staff member
I have an armband...it is visible at all times to both me and lifties...and it won't 'break off' or anything. You don't know how many passes I have picked up that were attached to zipcords.

Sunapee did not have the zipcords today either...I may use it at Sunapee since management is hung up on scanning...the lifties were getting sick of it. My pass scanned some of the time...

RossiSkier

My armband only beeped twice on a dozen plus attempts to scan it. But if I go with the lanyard my pass is sure to wind up lost on the slopes.

skibum1321

Zip cord all the way. Unfortunately Smuggs only gives you a lanyard or armband - so the solution is to use the zip cord from Stowe last year.

bvibert

Staff member
I can tell you from experience that any pass holder that puts the pass behind a piece of plastic is very hard to scan. That plastic always gets wavy and ussually trap moisture, both of which distort the light waves from the scanner...

JimG.

Staff member
bvibert said: