• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Quick question about Cannon Mtn.

mckay

I have tomorrow free to go skiing anywhere I can drive to. I live in Southern NH. This is my first year skiing, I've been about 10 times. Recently started carving my turns and really liking it. I ski at Crotched almost exclusively, all the blues in all conditions. My question is this -- can I safely handle some of the blues at Cannon? If I ride the Peabody express, is there a reasonably do-able route or two down from there for an "emerging intermediate" skier.

I've always driven by Cannon and said to myself "someday I'd like to ski there". Is it too soon? Will I be scared silly? The alternative destination is Sunapee, but I would like to try one of the big ones up north and Cannon is cheap. Plus, I'm going to Bretton Woods on Friday. Thanks.

hammer

I've never skied at Cannon but I've been to Sunapee a few times...based on what I saw driving by Cannon, though, I'd suggest you go there only if you are somewhat comfortable going down the blacks at Crotched.

I actually think Sunapee would be a better choice for a lower intermediate...plus, the views of Lake Sunapee are really nice.

riverc0il

Website
www.thesnowway.com
cannon has plenty to offer the intermediate skier. cannon's blues are definitely a step up from crotched's blues in the steepness catagory. the main routes likely get skied off more quickly too, but i doubt you'll have much to worry about mid-week. tuesday is a twofer day, so you'll get a lot of bang for your buck.