• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Advice about Tuckerman's

jaywbigred

Hello all, a newbie here...

Well, I figure the last day of February is a good time to start thinking about Tuckerman's. I'll need to ask for the time off in late april/early may soon, so, was hoping some of y'all could give me some advice. Let me tell you where I am coming from...

All through college, my ski buddies and I always talked about skiing Tucks. We skiied a lot, and a couple of us were part-time instructors at the local mountain (Greek Peak, NY). But a combo of factors, mostly related to a) poor weather and b) the timing of trips to Tucks being in the middle of finals, we never made it to Mt. Washington. They went on to jobs in NYC and elsewhere, I went to law school in the midwest and barely skiied during those 3 years.

Now, I am back on the east coast, will have logged 20+ ski days by the end of March (paltry I know, but good enough for me, working full time at a new job I started on Dec. 1!), and for the first time in awhile, all of us can likely make a trip to Tucks...

So, does anyone know of a good guidebook or website that can tell you how to plan this trip? I have read Time For Tuckermans and other various sites, but what I was hoping for was a thorough description of the whole trip: To where do I drive? Do I book locally at a motel? Where do I park to hike in? Is parking free? Difficulty of hike? What is the viability/advantage of camping? Tent v. Hut? Do i need a permit? Hut availability? Midweek or weekend? Any special equipment needed other than a good pack that I can lash skis and boots to?