Northeast & New England Ski Resort and Ski Area Locator Map - Page 2

AlpineZone

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    bvibert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Torrington, CT
    Posts
    30,385
    Thanks Beano, good to know about safari.
    Brian

  2. #12

    Some comments

    Nice job. Gotta love Web2.0 apps. great way to present the data.

    for early season skiers, can you color the peaks ?
    red - closed
    yellow - partially open
    blue - fully open
    or something like that ?

    it would also be useful if you included a summary of current weather conditions from NWS - they have an API to grab weather info for mashups.

    One comment - there was significant latency in the initial load and update - maybe due to the variety of sources being queried. Can the presentation update be done as each query is completed rather than when all are complete ? This way - you can see the data appearing.

  3. #13
    Lostone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sugarbush, Vermont
    Posts
    588

    Unhappy

    May not work for older systems.

    Clicked on Vermont.
    Got a warning saying a script has stopped responding, with choice of stop script or continue. Tried continue 3 times, then stop script. Got a map with lots of ski areas, but none in Vermont.

    Using Firefox on a Win98SE system.

    Luckily, I don't need a map. I just walk outside.
    .
    .
    Look! Up in the sky!


    .

  4. #14
    Lostone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sugarbush, Vermont
    Posts
    588

    Wink

    OK, tried it again with a lot more patience.

    Still get the script errors. This time I clicked Continue 4 times and it did work. Then all seemed to work ok. I'll have to try it again when some of them are open.

    Clicking Vermont, shows New England, and places are too close. I think it would be better to have one state, more spread out.
    .
    .
    Look! Up in the sky!


    .

  5. #15
    bvibert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Torrington, CT
    Posts
    30,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Lostone View Post
    OK, tried it again with a lot more patience.

    Still get the script errors. This time I clicked Continue 4 times and it did work. Then all seemed to work ok. I'll have to try it again when some of them are open.

    Clicking Vermont, shows New England, and places are too close. I think it would be better to have one state, more spread out.
    Thanks for the feedback. That's probably because the code uses Javascript, which relies on your computer/browser to do the processing. There are a lot of data points so it may take longer than the timeout on slower systems.
    Brian

  6. #16
    bvibert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Torrington, CT
    Posts
    30,385
    Quote Originally Posted by tjd View Post
    One comment - there was significant latency in the initial load and update - maybe due to the variety of sources being queried. Can the presentation update be done as each query is completed rather than when all are complete ? This way - you can see the data appearing.
    I'm not sure if there is a way to do that using the Google Maps API. That's a good idea though.
    Brian

  7. #17
    bvibert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Torrington, CT
    Posts
    30,385
    Quote Originally Posted by bvibert View Post
    I'm not sure if there is a way to do that using the Google Maps API. That's a good idea though.
    Actually, there is. It may require a lenghty re-write though... I'll look into it...

    Brian

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:01 AM.