• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Help choosing a ride?

planb420

I have been zooming around the mountain on my snowboard all season long and now that the season is coming to a close I began to wonder what is next for me as I LOVE THE SNOW and always hate to see it go.:oops: Then a few fellow AZers suggested mountain biking, of couse the first thing that came to mind is "yeah sounds fun maybe I will just head up to the local walmart and pick one up to ride"......I was quickly told that would be a BIG mistake! I am a total newb when it comes to REAL MTN biking but loved riding my bike all over the place a few years back and would love to get into some more intense trail riding and such. I am looking for any suggestions anyone might have for a good starter bike that is not too stock but also not too over the top as I am pretty rough on equipment and dont want it to be too cheap but also not too expensive.....here is a breakdown of you may need to know to make any suggestions:

-I am 5'7" and about 160 lbs (give or take)
-want to spend prob no more than 600 but prob around 400-500
-I want to be able to ride trails as well as some road riding (Kinda want something to slay it all)
-Are disc brakes the best way to go? (I love goin fast...but wanna be able to stop when in trouble LOL)
-Single, Dual, or No suspension...(assuming no suspension is a no go :))
-New or Used/Craigslist (Sketchy on used unless I got it from someone I could trust since I would not know what to look for, but would buy from a fellow AZer should they have a spare?)