• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Buying a new snowboard

jswan08

Hi I'm a beginner rider 5'11" 155 lbs 11.5 boot looking for a suitable board just to ride at resorts mainly groomed courses not really looking to go to the park just yet. I had a burton aftermath 158cm that just cracked to the core ( had to have been a manufacturer defect ) that I'm returning. I was hoping I could get some suggestions as to which board I should buy preferably burton. I have the burton 2013 freestyle bindings and dc phase 2013 boots. It seems as I need a mid wide board but I really cant afford paying more than 300-350ish for a board. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

ScottySkis

Rent season rentals, much cheaper then buying new, and see what you like, also try demo days at local hill.

stealthyc

The Arbor Formula is a great board! It's $299 and beginner friendly, but will still work for you when your skills progress. It's rocker with grip tech so it will hold an edge, while still being easy to progress on. The grip tech allows you to fit up to a size 12 on a regular width board because the grip tech bumps out right in the middle of the insert pack.

Mpdsnowman