• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Your favorite teacher

jimk

Summer thread for sure, meant for any teacher you ever had, kindergarten to PhD, but favorite ski instructor is good too:p

I studied under this guy in college, Dr. Gordon Prange: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gordon_W._Prange
He had seen Hitler speak as a grad student in Nazi Germany and served as MacArthur’s chief historian in occupied Japan. He was so good I took four military history classes from him and became a History Minor. He would actually reenact excerpts from Hitler’s speeches in class, fluid German, goose-stepping included!?!

ctenidae

I had a chemistry teacher in high school (who's name I, sadly, forget) who started the first day of class in a great way. She walked in about 5 minutes after the bell rang, with a little piece of trash that she tossed in the garbage can as she walked by, saying "Okay kids, first day of class, we're going to talk about lab safety, which I know no one wants to talk about. First lesson is on handling glassware safely." She picked up a handful of test tubes, and said, "There's a right way to deal with glass," and tossed the tubes on the table without breaking any of them. "And there's a wrong way to handle glass," and picked up a handful and dropped them on the table, braking them all.