• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

A Night in the Life of a Snowcat Operator

BushMogulMaster

Industry Rep
Industry Rep
Back in 2009, when I was a green rookie groomer, I wrote a post here about a night in the life of a Mt. Ellen groomer (see http://forums.alpinezone.com/showth...-a-Mt-Ellen-groomer?highlight=bushmogulmaster). Years later, I guess it caught one of the Admin's eyes at EpicSki, and they asked me to write a "Mountain Article" on the topic. So, i took the old piece, made it ski-resort-neutral, and cleaned the whole thing up a bit.

Hope you enjoy. Cheers!

For most people, a day at the ski resort ends around 4:00PM. But for a few twilight warriors, the day is just beginning. If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be a groomer, here’s your chance to get a sneak-peek into a “Night in the Life of a Snowcat Operator.”

Your job is to spend the night undoing what the skiers spent their day doing. You cut off bumps, you fill low spots, you move snow back uphill and toward the center of trails. You resurface and refresh the snow, so that the skiers can enjoy it all over again the next day. Your job is both art and science. You’re a “rookie” for at least 4 years, and you’re not a veteran for many, many more. But you are a groomer, and you have the best job in the world!