• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Lessons and pointers

mbedle

Started snowboarding in 1990 (back than it was very different, rode with Timberland boots with the thick wool liners!!!). Self taught by trial and error riding at the local hill at night and following all of my ski buddies at Killington on the weekends. Switched over to a carving board with hard boots around 1996, which basically took away any chance to getting lessons (we are a dying breed). I am riding now with a couple of other carvers up at Stowe, which helps a lot with technique by watching them ride. Plus we play off of each other by pushing harder on steeper terrain. My biggest issue now is getting better in moguls, ungroomed terrain and the woods. I have a smaller carving board and and use a completely different technique for that kind of stuff. A lot of my friends ride freestyle and they help with that kind of riding style.

Not Sure

Website
www.youtube.com
Folks, I've been skiing downhill since 1997. I started out in 1979 doing cross country, and pretty much self taught myself to ski downhill, just keep trying and find something that works. I have taken some lessons here and there, but no series of them. Never been on a ski team or race team. Certainly having tons of fun. As a result, however, I have learned a good many bad habits over the 2 decades of skiing.

Last year, I joined Primetime ski club at Sunday River ( a group for over 50's folks, gasp!!!) So nowadays, I always have someone to ski with. And of course, that means someone who is better than me. I love to ski behind them, emulating their moves. They give me pointers, and I practice them. It's tough, as an old dog, learning new habits, but what a difference!