• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Pat's Peak vs Wachusett vs Ragged Mountain for beginner

licooperk89

Hello everyone,

I'm looking at one of these three learn to ski/snowboard packages. If I'm just learning and planning to go 6-10 times how package at what mountain would you suggest to get?
Pats offers 4 lessons + rentals + season ticket with free rentals for the season for $350.
Wachusett offers $200 for 2 lessons + $30 for the next free days with 2 days of rentals
And Ragged offers free lessons with rentals + season ticket no rentals for $70.

But it feels like Pats is a smaller mountain and I will get bored fast. I heard that Wachusett is icy to ski. And if I want to ski at Ragged this season then I'll have to get my own skis after completing of classes. There are downsides everywhere and I'm not sure what is more important for me. I'm leaning towards Ragged since it is bigger mountain, but I'm not sure if I will want to commit to one sport by being my own equipment by the end of classes. So, I'm lost a little.

About me and what I see myself accomplishing this season: I live in Boston. I'm relatively new to snow sports. I took 3 snowboard lessons at Wachusett Mountain couple of years ago and I think if I ever to take classes again I would start with level 2 there (out of 5) for snowboard. This season I wanted to do more snowboard and probably try some skiing as well as to go and try some big mountain once or twice. In total I was thinking to go ski//snowboard about 6-10 times this season.

Thank you very much.

P.S. I looked at PEAK DISCOVERY PROGRAM but it is too far from Boston.

Quietman