• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

12/25/2019: A very merry Christmas at Attitash

abc

Condition: well groomed man-made snow, sun and cloud, very light crowd

Got the before 10. Not much crowd to speak off. Parked next to the tunnel entrance (there’re others prefer to park such to walk right across the road, which had almost no traffic).

Its my first time there. Not knowing anything about the mountain, I did the obvious, of getting on the Summit triple. Well, it’s a looong and slooow ride! I nearly fell to sleep on the chair ride.

But the view from the top of the summit is really nice. The day’s not the brightest today. I imagine it’d be gorgeous on a bright sunny day.

Also on the way, I got to look at the trails it crossed. They looked freshly groomed and in good shape. So I ripped it! Not bad at all. This coming from someone who doesn’t care much for groomers much except to use them to get to the trees and bumps. Today, there’s no expectation of any bumps, let alone trees. So groomers zooming is all I expected and I’d say I’m not disappointed.

Back up on the Flying Yankee. Much better. In fact, I nearly missed the dismount as I didn’t expect it to come so quickly (was intensely studying trail map). A couple quick laps of the lower mountain to warm up. Then it’s back on the slow summit triple to take on the 2 blacks that were open. Good steep trails to get the legs working.

Then it’s time to explore the Bear side. Only a few top to bottom routes. Quickly covered those. Turns out the trail to get back to Attitash had the best snow. So changed my mind and did another lap on the “roundabout” route to the bottom.

Time for lunch. Plenty of tables.