• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

advice for a n.e. rookie?

S

sweeny

Hi all.

I'm relatively new to new england and haven't really done much trekking in about ten years. I was, at one time, a capable mountaineer and outdoorsman. I'd really like to get back into it, and am looking for a location within a few hours of boston to do some hiking, (non-site) camping, and climbing. Any advice would be most appreciated.

thanks much,
dave sweeny

riverc0il

Website
www.thesnowway.com
hi sweeny! welcome to new england and welcome to this forum!

there's a couple of 'hot spots' for hiking/backpacking/camping in NE depending upon what you are looking for and how far you are willing to drive. i mainly hike in New Hampshire's white mountains; which except for spots in maine and vermont, tends to offer up the most rugged trails, interesting loops, and highest elevation.

if you are interested in learning more about the various regions and trails in new hampshire's white mountains, i strongly recommend you pick up the AMC's White Mountain Guide which contains topo maps covering the region and is considered the 'standard' trail description book. also of interest may be david metsky's White Mountain Server at http://www.cs.dartmouth.edu/whites/

southern NH has some interesting hiking such as along the M&M trail and cardigan. VT offers up the long trail, the Whites extend into Maine which also offers up some higher peaks and interesting locations. not much to be found in massachusetts and below. there's some interesting hiking out in the berkshires and blue hills is close to boston for mid-week metro hikers. also, the dacks' of NY are often overlooked (by myself included because of the drive, i live north of boston).