• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Best mogul skiing in north east?

gmcunni

curious to know which North East mountain is considered the 'bump mecca" of the North East?

Travel distance aside, which resort is generally considered to have the most/best bumps over the course of an average season?

Reading another thread it sounds like Sugarbush North might be that place but I've not skied 90% of the mountains in the NE so i have no first hand knowledge.

deadheadskier

Staff member
Of the places I've skied, I would rate it something like this

1. Sugarbush
2. Mad River Glen - though this would be tops if more consistent
3. Sugarloaf
4. Killington
5. Okemo - hard not to include them when they probably seed the most.

2knees

i'd agree with dhs list.

in the good old days, there was killington and then everyone else waaaaay down the list.

2knees

for sugarbush do you discriminate between North and South?

BMM can and will disagree, but i'm stating that in the case of south. I've only skied north a couple of times. castlerock has always been a bump lovers heaven when i've skied there along with a slew of other runs. but the pics posted by BMM of north this year are incredible.

actually, reviewing dhs list again, i realize i havent even skied 2 of the 5, but i trust his judgement. :lol:

jaywbigred

Havent skied everywhere but from what I've seen:

1. Mt. Ellen
2. Okemo
3. Lincoln Peak (Castlerock)
4. Killington
5. Mt. Snow

deadheadskier

Staff member
You're both forgetting about MRG. They have some of the best bumps in the East when conditions are right. Of course, you're entitled to your opinion but I would lump MRG in with those 2 at the very least. Just sayin'.