• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Another effed up lawsuit.

bvibert

Staff member
I just saw this on another website, seems like it's worth sharing.

Apparently the makers of Monster energy drink are suing Rock Art Brewery for supposed trademark infringement with their beer called Vermonster. I'm not sure who would think that Vermonster beer and Monster energy drinks are the same thing??:-?

Read more about it here, there's also a video from the owner of Rock Art Brewery:
http://www.rockartbrewery.com/

Glenn

This could get interesting. I thought there was a character used in VT (for tourism?) called the Vermonster.

ctenidae

I'm no lawyer, but I do know that if you don't defend a trademark, you can loose it. Chances are they settle for lawyers fees and an exemption so Monster can say "We defended our trademark"

ComeBackMudPuddles

is the risk of confusion that people might confuse "vermonster" and "monster"?? lol.

whatever, that tiny brewery has gotten so much free advertising out of this i can't feel bad for them.

ctenidae

According to the US Patent and Trademark Office, Hansen has filed suit against several otehr companies. At least one was dismissed without prejudice, everyone responsible for their own fees. Likely the same will happen here, and Vermonster will benefit from a nationwide media campaign.

Interesting some of the things our tax dollars pay for- handy, many of them:
http://tess2.uspto.gov/

WWF-VT

Only the lawyer from Hansen Beverages / Monster is dumb enough to confuse an energy drink with a craft beer. Total pain and waste of money for Rock Art to have to defend itself

ctenidae