• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Catamount is the worst in the EAST !!!!

JBSki

Catamount is by far the worst mountain I have ever been to. ( was their 2/26/11)

I have been skiing for over 20 years in the Northeast (and ran many group trips for a ski tour company I worked for after college) so I have seen the best and worst in the east.

I needed rentals for my young children (5 & 7) which took an hour and their was only one little 5 Ft bench for the entire rental shop to put the kids boots on. The change machine was broken for the pay lockers. The shop is old, small and dirty. The only thing they invested in was an electronic inventory system for the rentals which doesn’t work because my sons boot did not fit in the ski and we had to go all the way back to the shop (another ½ hour) to get it corrected.

My kids are beginners so I took them to the magic carpet. Their was no organization (people cutting the line) and their was no lift attendant at the top all day and the attendant left the bottom of the lift between 2:45 and 4pm. ( which would be great for those who don’t want to buy a lift ticket)