• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Too Much ‘Adult’ Beverage

catskills

It’s Saturday night and its right before the College Freshman go to their first year of college. Talk about stress. As a volunteer EMT, I have been dealing with way too many drunk driving accidents of young people in the last few weeks.

This morning before my 23 year old daughter goes to work she asks me if there a device you can buy that tells you Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). She tells me that she has friends that she tries to convince them to let her drive them home because they have had too much to drink and they refuse. This got me thinking. Yes she may be talking about herself and not her friends. Like everyone else, I have seen .08 BAC warnings all over the place but what exactly does that mean? What are the laws in NY State for BAC and driving. They seem to keep changing all the time.

That raised the following questions:
  • Do you and your family members know how many drinks it will take for them based on their weight and sex to exceed DWI of .08 ?
  • Do you and your family members know how many drinks it will take to exceed Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI)?
  • Do you and your family members even know what the BAC levels are for DWAI in your state?
  • Do you know what the penalty is for DWAI in your state?
  • Do you know the penalty for exceeding DWAI zero tollerence laws for under 21?