• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Aspen Snowmass from 4/7 to 4/14......

Tonyr

Also I think your underselling the expert terrain at Snowmass, it's very good too. The best lift served stuff at Snowmass is better than Highlands or Ajax's best stuff in my opinion, it's just not as convenient to lap.

deadheadskier

Staff member
Also I think your underselling the expert terrain at Snowmass, it's very good too. The best lift served stuff at Snowmass is better than Highlands or Ajax's best stuff in my opinion, it's just not as convenient to lap.

Agree to disagree. I'm no expert on Aspen, but I have skied both Highlands and Snowmass 4 times each while 100% open. Highlands expert stuff felt steeper and for much longer, sustained vertical. The stuff at Snowmass while good are in short bursts.

Tonyr

Agree to disagree. I'm no expert on Aspen, but I have skied both Highlands and Snowmass 4 times each while 100% open. Highlands expert stuff felt steeper and for much longer, sustained vertical. The stuff at Snowmass while good are in short bursts.
Sure we all have our different opinions and I certainly think the Highlands is a great expert spot to ski, it's definitely better than Ajax mountain for expert terrain. I thought the mountain overall though was very narrow and the vertical on the expert runs are not all that long either as the toughest runs go over the sides of the mountain for the most part.