• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

My Whitewater Kayaking Season - Summer 2008

loafer89

I am not sure how many people on this board kayak during the summer, but I have been doing it for 13 years now. This past May, my son paddled solo for the first time. I though I would share some pictures if anyone is interested.

Warren solo on the Willimantic River, Connecticut May 27th, 2008:

WillimanticRiverMay27th.jpg

Advancing to minor rapids on the Willimantic River, June 17th:

WillimanticRiverJune17th.jpg

Crystal Rapid, Farmington River Connecticut, June 30th, 2008:

CrystalRapidJune30th.jpg

Stokers Rip (class III), Scantic River, Connecticut, July 6th, 2008:

ScanticRiverJuly6th.jpg

Entering Zoar Gap (class III) Deerfield River, Massachusetts, July 19th, 2008:

ZoarGapJuly19th.jpg

Me after surviving my first class IV river. Ashuelot River, Hinsdale New Hampshire, August 6th:

AshuelotSurvival.jpg

Slot Drop at Roostertail Rapid, Farmington River, Connecticut, August 8th:

WarrendoingaslotdropontheFarmington.jpg

Salmon River Connecticut, September 27th, 2008:

SalmonRiverSeptember28th.jpg

In all we paddled the following rivers:

Connecticut:

Housatonic, Farmington, Willimantic, Scantic, Mount Hope, Still, Natchaug and the Salmon

Massachusetts:

Deerfield

New Hampshire:

Ashuelot, Pemmigawasett

New York:

Esopus Creek

Last edited:

deadheadskier

Staff member
How old is your sun? 6??? Amazing

I had a failed attempt entering the sport five years back, nearly drowned on the Casselman in PA at it's highest flood stage in 30 years. I'd take on what your son is doing in a shredder with no problem. Put me in a kayak and I'd cry like a dumped girl on prom night :lol: