• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Xmas 2014

gt2200

Website
www.best4carleasing.co.uk
I guess I should start by saying 'Hi' from over the pond as I'm a Newbie to the site and so this is my first post.

As the title kinda suggests I'm planning ahead for Christmas 2014 and thinking of returning to the US, it's been some 14yrs since I last visited!!! The last time BC (Before Children), my wife and I came to the US with our best buddies, and we saw in the Millennium with Christmas in Stowe and New Year in Boston......it was an awesome holiday, stunning Skiing in Stowe and Boston was just fabulous with it's atmosphere, history etc.

Now looking at the similar trip again, my wife has said she really wants to go to Boston again for the New Year celebrations......and probably shopping at Tiffany's, but the real question is whether Stowe is still the resort to go for, or the one that best suits our family, this is where you guys come in?

To give you a heads up we're planning on being in the resort for 5days skiing, I'm really looking for one with a decent ski school for the children (both beginners, with a little skiing experience) and skiing suitable for Intermediates as that's the level my wife is comfortable with.

Having looked at Stowe again it would appear it's had a huge amount of development (which I guess would happen in 14yrs) but I'm concerned it's sort of lost it's 'homely' atmosphere and consequently also seen a big hike in prices.

Accommodation wise last time we stayed in the Stowe Motel & Snowdirft which was fine as it's really only a place to bed down as meals will be out most days.