• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Twitter saves the day???

bvibert

Staff member
Seems kind of bogus to me. From what I understand the trails there are pretty wide and virtually impossible to get lost on. There's also reportedly good cell service in the area. It seems unlikely to me that she'd be able to get a good internet connection, but no cell service?? I'm no cell engineer though...

http://www.nbcconnecticut.com/news/local-beat/Wounded-Moutain-Biker-Saved-by-Twitter--99553894.html

It's awfully coincidental that she runs a "social media communications consultancy" business, and relied on Twitter to get "rescued" IMHO...

gmcunni

wonder if she'll be suing Winding Trails for allowing exposed roots on a bike trail and not having adequate cell coverage.

legalskier

Interesting post below the story: Is it possible to be in "semi shock" with "broken ribs" and to "yell for help"? (wouldn't that hurt?) And I love how she claims her bike looks like it was "hit by a mack truck" but the next day she had no broken bones or fractures. I smell a bogus story.

gmcunni

It's awfully coincidental that she runs a "social media communications consultancy" business, and relied on Twitter to get "rescued" IMHO...

who runs a Philadelphia-based health care public relations and social media communications consultancy,

health care and social networking as a job = get hurt and use twitter.. .could it be any more staged?

bvibert

Staff member
Interesting post below the story: Is it possible to be in "semi shock" with "broken ribs" and to "yell for help"? (wouldn't that hurt?) And I love how she claims her bike looks like it was "hit by a mack truck" but the next day she had no broken bones or fractures. I smell a bogus story.