• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

All-Time Cross Country Drive Highlights

jimk

As mentioned in another thread, for a person who never made a living as a motor vehicle driver, I've done quite a few cross country drives over the years, perhaps 25 involving 5000 or more miles? The majority were associated with ski trips, but many in the off-season too. It occurred to me it might be a fun summer diversion to start a discussion with AZ members who've also traveled North America by car and share what they thought were highlights.

I'm not sure where to begin for myself, but this June 2023 I drove from UT to VA via AZ, NM, KS, etc. I'll post a few photos from this most recent cross country trip.

My Subie driving into The Grand Wash in Capitol Reef NP, UT
grand wash 10 june 2023.jpg

Hwy 12 near Boulder, UT is incredible. 1000+ foot drops on both sides of the road as it curves atop a mountain spine that is only 30 yards wide in places.
hwy 12 10 june 2023.jpg

An empty scenic view at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon
scenic view north rim grand canyon.jpg

View of Glen Canyon Dam from a boat on Lake Powell. This is near Page, AZ.
glen canyon dam water view 12 june 2023.jpg

Church Rock, AZ. This is in the Monument Valley area.
church rock 12 june 2023.jpg

Christ in the Desert Benedictine Monastery, NM
christ in the desert monastery.jpg

Dodge City, KS. Thousands of real cattle nearby, believe me!
el capitan dodge city ks.jpg

Inside the top of the St. Louis Arch
inside st louis arch.jpg

Thoroughbred Horse Farms along I64 in KY
ky horse farms.jpg

Blackwater Falls State Park, WV
black water falls.jpg

That's all for now folks. Might post more photos from previous trips later.