• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Searching for and choosing a college

hammer

Just wondering what the current approaches are to picking a college...it's been over 20 years since I graduated so I'm sure a lot has changed.

My son's entering his junior year in HS...he's looking at Biology/Pre-Med programs. Grades are OK (mostly As and Bs) and he's taking higher level courses (2 AP classes this year). While he's not Harvard or MIT material (neither was I), I believe he should be able to get into a decent school.

Any thoughts on state schools (in out case UMass) vs. private? Larger or smaller?

When do people usually start the campus tours? I'm thinking this fall will be the time...

thetrailboss

Staff member
Start ASAP with school tours.

Work on the whole package--grades, extracurriculars, community service, etc.

Begin narrowing down the list--reach schools, etc. Get in touch with alum who are friends.

hammer

Start ASAP with school tours.
Will do...this fall will be busy. Didn't plan on any tours during the summer.

Work on the whole package--grades, extracurriculars, community service, etc.
Aside from scouts, my son's not into activities...not that has parents haven't tried. :roll: I guess I also have a problem with doing additional activities in the name of "college resume padding".

I'd rather see him get real solid grades this year and work to get the best test scores he can. If he can do outside stuff on top of that, great...but realistically I don't see that happening.

Begin narrowing down the list--reach schools, etc. Get in touch with alum who are friends.
Will do in conjunction with tours.

St. Bear

Website
twitter.com