• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

ski length

freebie

how much does ski length have to do with control, I can make nice smooth turns on moderate pitch slopes but once it gets steep my skiis(K2 Escape 5500) tend to run out on me, not sure if it is technique, skiis that are too long too stiff etc, just feel like they are kid of slow edge to edge, I like to go down the edge of the trail making quick sharp turns at a moderate speed, might go try to hit some demo days and try something different, I'm still fairly new to the shaped skiis so don't really know what to look for
thanks
Ryan

Greg

Staff member
What length are your Escapes? The 5500 was an advanced level ski IIRC. What is your weight? Skiing ability?

freebie

I'm not sure on exact length but I'm 6'2" and they reach my nose with no shoes on, I think they were 178 if I remember though, my ability is imdermediate/advanced intermediate, I weigh 250 right now but need to drop about 30 lbs, these skiis are fast, just don't turn very quick

wa-loaf

I'm not sure on exact length but I'm 6'2" and they reach my nose with no shoes on, I think they were 178 if I remember though, my ability is imdermediate/advanced intermediate, I weigh 250 right now but need to drop about 30 lbs, these skiis are fast, just don't turn very quick

I don't know that much about those skis, but K2s tend to be very damp and if these are medium to long radius they are not going to be very snappy.

I demoed a pair of K2 Apache Strykers last fall and they were a very nice ski. They felt light and smooth, but were very snappy. Give them a try if you get the chance. 178 sounds like a good length for you (I'm on 178's, 5'9" and 210lbs) although if you do like the snappy turns a little shorter might help.