• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Absolute beginner

Kingslug20

I spent some time in the beginning at Vernon Valley...and fell so much on the ice I wanted to give up...then we went to Belleayre...ahhh...snow....
Then I was hooked......then started going to Hunter...then I was really hooked.

nycskier

There are some great places for beginners to learn in CT. You don't need to travel far. Just do day trips to start. Mount Southington is a great place for beginners to learn. It's 25 minutes from Hartford and have $45 beginner area lift tickets and $40 weekday specials before 3pm. If you commit to learning this winter do a season rental before hand and go to the local smaller mountains like Southington and Mohawk Mountain which is about an hour from Hartford.

joshua segal

Website
skikabbalah.com
I spent some time in the beginning at Vernon Valley...and fell so much on the ice I wanted to give up...then we went to Belleayre...ahhh...snow....
Then I was hooked......then started going to Hunter...then I was really hooked.
All of the northeast has ice problems. The real issue is: Does management do anything about it? That's a management decision (which varies from season-to-season) that determines the amount of snowmaking and grooming.

BodeMiller1

Isn't SunDown where The Disembowler skis?

I think The Dis said "Sundown is an Institution". Or, rather he shouted it.

If you go to New Hampshire most ski areas will give you a free ticket, free lesson and those kinds of things...
Call ahead on this one.

Good Luck. One in of every 985 ski days results in serious injury. So there's that...

🦉

BodeMiller1

Exactly !!! Bretton Woods is cool. The OP didn’t mention $ savings nor travel time.