• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Paragliding

Nick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.alpinezone.com
One of my other hobbies that I haven't done that much is Paragliding. I started training in the late 1990's with my dad in Europe. Got my certification (My, "Sonderpilotenschein" in Austria) and bought an old glider. Flew several times since then but it's now been a few years and I'm trying to get back into it.

This past weekend I had the chance to head up to Morningside Flight Park in Charlestown, NH. They have a couple different launches, the highest being I think 450'. Pales in comparison to the 1000 M (3000') launches in Austria, but being airborne is fun none theless. I did two quick flights from the 150' marker, but then the wind picked up too much and was coming over the back of the hill so no good for flying.

I have to go back again, planning on the 15th, to do a couple higher launches. After that the instructor there, I am hoping, will "sign off" my license to the US equivolent which is a P3.

Fun stuff .... eventually I want to get the motor so I can just fly from the top of my street ;)

PS: Yeah, I used that song that was in the MRG powder video from the site here somewhere. It's a good tune

jaja111

That looks like a blast, and quite a bit cheaper than plane rentals with fuel.

(The song is "When I'm Small" by Phantogram).

Nick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Website
www.alpinezone.com
I actually have a private pilot's license as well; but I find myself enjoying paragliding so much more ... I find it represents what flying is more accurately to me. Just the freedom of being in the air.

Huck_It_Baby