• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Best Wipe-outs revisited....

I know there was a thread about bad wipe-outs before but that was when there were less AZers on here. Tell us about some of your best wipeouts. Here are a few of mine.

Nearly Decapitated @ Stowe...

I was a sophomore at UVM and I attended the 1999 Ski Vermont Discussion list Partee at Stowe. In Ski Vermont fashion..we poached alot of runs including a group poach of Chin-Clip. I was in the front of a group of about 15 skiers and riders..heading down the top of Nosedive towards a closed Bypas...When I went to duck under the rope at moderate speed..The rope caught my forehead and I had quite a yardsale. All my gear was strewn around and the rope was down so I officially opened the trail. I just got a little shaken up but I know somebody broke their neck doing a similar maneuver at Killington years later.

GSS messes up wiring on Nastar course:

Back in 2006..I caught the racing bug and hit up Thursday night Nastar at Blue religiously from 6:30PM to 8:30PM. Based on the crowds..I could get up to a dozen runs on the 25 second course. One night it was really cold and windy which made the course very icy with frozen ruts..but also very fast. One of the runs..about 4 gates from the finish..I hit a divot at a weird angle and was thrown to my left shoulder then in trying to slow to a stop I somehow ended up on my back. I took out a gate then ended up taking out a bunch of wiring and hit the timing laser. When I got up..the timing laser was pointed at the sky. I luckily didn't get injured and it took them about 10 minutes to fix the timing device and the gates. At the top waiting for the next run..the line was so freaking long due to the delay.

Greg

Staff member