• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Do you ski AND ride?

I am a...

• Total voters

Greg

Staff member
I would like to try snowboarding someday, but I always told myself that it'll be after I master skiing, and I'm far from that. There's probably always room for improvement so perhaps, I'll never ride following this logic. Maybe this year I'll try it, but right now I am a skier only.

Joshua B

I voted for skier only. Even though I used to skateboard during high school, I never had a major urge to try snowboarding. I'm more interesting in trying telemarking.

R

Raisputin

I ski and ride...

I do both... :)

I have been skiing now for 21 years and snowboarding for about 10/11. I enjoy them both very much, and I never know what I am going to want to do on any particular day.

Powder day, I'll take my board for some serious cruising and fun. Groomed day, it's a toss up. Going extreme, I strap on the skis every time...

If you want to try snowboarding, and are a long time skier, I like to suggest a more alpine oriented board instead of the freestyle boards that are so common. They generally carve better, use hard plate bindings (which are often ski boot compatible), and have a more forward pointing stance

as an example:
if a typical snowboarders stance is | |
an alpine stance is more like / / (usually more forward though)

The more forward stance IMO is more comfortable for long-time skiers, but that is just my opinion of course, and finding alpine snowboarding gear (as opposed to freestyle) is much more difficult and tends to be a little more expensive. bomberonline.com has a pretty good selection of Alpine snowboarding (Carving) gear IIRC as does Blue-Tomato