• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Timberline lodge

thebigo

Back when I was a young engineer working the Colombia River gorge dams, drove up to timberline several times. Cool place, hiked around but could never line up a ski day.

Thinking next April vacation rather than our standard week at k. Girls will be 6 and 10.

Has anyone ever done a family vacation at the lodge?

One of my best memories is a week at the Peruvian with dad when I was around ten, hoping for a similar experience.

Last edited:

jaytrem

I have not taken my family there, but this guy did...

jack-nicholson-dans-the-shining.jpg

Vortex

I made a trip late season to Timberline last year. Going again 3rd week of May. They have a great late Season Pass. $237 I think this year.
For the price of Two days of Skiing, you can ski from Mid March until Memorial day

Last edited:

drjeff

The thing with April and Timberline Lodge is that it can be very isolated if a storm rolls in, and the Palmer Chair, up to the snowfields isn't running for the Summer season yet. They do have cat skiing access up on Palmer weather permitting though.

If you want to take them to Timberline at that time of the year, then staying down by the base in Government Camp, might be a better option, as there is a little more to do in Govie when the lifts aren't spinning at the end of the day

ThatGuy

Was just going to make a thread about this myself. Ill be driving right by Mt. Hood in mid June is Timberline worth a stop for a few hours? Do they have rentals at that point in the season or would I have to bring along my skis?

thebigo

I made a trip late season to Timberline last year. Going again 3rd week of May. They have a great late Season Pass. $237 I think this year.