• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Help with choosing a new mtb

Bumpsis

I decided to step up from my 2007 Specialized Rockhopper but the choices are overwhelming, so I'd like some help with getting a new bike. I'm not looking to get a used one.

I narrowed things down by defining my budget first. I'm willing to spend about about $ 1500 - $ 1,800.
Since my primary criterion that I want to improve upon (vs. my Rockhopper) is weight, my new bike has to be light, somewhere around 25 - 27 lb. For around $ 1800 or less I should be able to find a light hardtail with good components.

Question here then is about the wheel size. I have no practical experience in making a choice between a 27.5 and 29 size wheel. I read that the 29ners may not be "nimble". I like riding technical single track type of terrain and I'm 5'6". I read that shorter folk like me are favored by choosing 27.5 size.

I would like a bike that I can swiftly guide through the trail, so "nimble" is very good.
I did find some possible choices (Trek Superfly 6 for instance), but they tend to have the 29 size wheels. Will the 29ner be more difficult? I would be stepping up from a 26 inch wheel.
Will the 27.5 be more fun? What about the 27.5 plus?

Just about all the bike shops I spoke to are OK with me taking a short ride close to the shop, but that will not even come close to a trial on a real mtb trail, so I have no way making the judgement as what will work beetter for me (27.5 vs 29)

Just for reference I ride mostly in the Blue Hills (Canton, MA), Bear Brook, NH and every now and then I'm in Stowe, VT so all the mtb trails there, town and the ones up on Luce Hill (Trapp Family trails). Having a new fun bike, I'm hoping to ride in many more places.