• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Anybody been to Magic Mt this week?

tmcc71

I was thinking about going Sunday. i am an expert skiier, the girlfriend is a lower intermediate. Should i wait for more cover or go for it. My other choices would be B east or crotched. tim

farlep99

I'm heading up tonight! Sounds like the last few days (especially Mon) have been epic. I'd say normally it'd be fine on Sunday, but the forecast is saying rain, so keep an eye on that. It maybe be messy everywhere in the NE on Sun.

riverc0il

Website
www.thesnowway.com
Crotched would offer the most lower intermediate groomer terrain of the three. You might be bored though. Depends how much you value your relationship versus your turns. :lol:

polski

Website
twitter.com
I have not been to Magic yet this season but they have been honest in reporting thin cover in spots on tougher terrain with only natural snow. However they've also got plenty of mellower groomers on their East Side, some with snowmaking. You certainly wouldn't be bored and I doubt your gf would be either.

If you choose Crotched, dunno if they had enough snow (and if wind left enough of it) but consider hiking from the "summit" chair unload to the actual summit - some nice turns to be had up there when conditions are right.

lazyasian

I'll probably be there on Friday, so I'll let you know then. It looks like they got some much needed snow from this storm, but still have some thin cover. They've been opening trails like crazy this week though!