• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Need some advice...

jonzee

First off, i've been viewing this sight for a couple of months now and would like to say that you guys and gals have some great info and advice, especially when it comes to conditions and terrain. i'm from long island so its tough to gauge whats really going on up north. also, i'm sorry that my first post will have to be a question.

so... i'm heading up to smuggs on sunday for the week and was wondering where the best place to ski would be. should i stay with smuggs, head to stowe, or is the drive to jay worth it.

thanks in advance for any tips and advice.

p.s. i'm an advanced/intermediate skier, i like to ski the whole nountian, and i ski 20 - 25 days a year, if that helps.

thetrailboss

Staff member
Welcome to the boards!

Well, where you will be staying, you certainly can ski BOTH Jay and Stowe. Honestly, Stowe has more cruising terrain while Jay is more about glades and steep stuff. Intermediate stuff there is not so great. Another option is Sugarbush, just down the road.

NYDrew

If you are going to smuggs, don't plan on skiing the other two mountains. While smuggs and stowe are insanely close, during the winter monthes (which it still is) the "notch" is closed forcing you to take a 45 minute drive around the mountains instead of a hop through the pass.

Smuggs did just get a ton of snow, my boss from there told me in an email conversation that the prediction was 18''.

Welcome to AZ

skibum1321