• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Thoughts on Skiing in PA for the rest of the season

vinnyv11

Just wanted to get everyone’s impressions out there on what the rest of the ski season looks like in PA given the recent and pending weather versus years past. I am new to skiing this year and was hoping to be able to go through some of March but looking at the weather and the conditions I had at Camelback yesterday I’m questioning whether I will be able to. Can somebody give me some insight here? Are the local mountains capable of keeping skiable snow up there given the current weather outlook? Any mountains better than others in this regard?

Thanks for any input from the season PA skiers.

legalskier

Sounds like you're in eastern Pa? If so, Blue always blows a base deep enough to take them into mid April easily, if they wished. The problem is, when the temps warm up by late March the lack of clientele doesn't justify the cost of further operations. I skied the last day of the season there a couple of years ago and couldn't believe they were closing, the base was that good. Usually they close on the last weekend of March. I believe Elk shoots for the same date too.

4aprice

Just wanted to get everyone’s impressions out there on what the rest of the ski season looks like in PA given the recent and pending weather versus years past. I am new to skiing this year and was hoping to be able to go through some of March but looking at the weather and the conditions I had at Camelback yesterday I’m questioning whether I will be able to. Can somebody give me some insight here? Are the local mountains capable of keeping skiable snow up there given the current weather outlook? Any mountains better than others in this regard?