• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

What will be the difference?

pwong313

I'm new to the boards and here's my first question. I just bought a pair of Atomic Metrons M10 in size 164. After talking to a couple people about it, most seem to think I should have gone with the 171s. So my question is, what will be the difference between them? I'm 5'11 about 200 pounds and have been skiing about 8 years. Most of the terrain I ski is the black diamond groomers, but I'm slowly trying to do more glades. I'm also trying to improve on the bumps, because I'm not good at them at all yet. I thought I should go a little shorter because I thought it would help improve my weaker abilities, and I assume I'm sacrificing a little speed. I didn't think the Atomics could be slower than the 6 year old Elan X carves I have. So I'm trying to decide if I should go with the 164s or offload them and move up. Any feedback is appreciated.

thanks,
pwong313

JimG.

Staff member
164 is fairly short for someone who is almost 6' tall, but it isn't so short that I'd say you got the wrong ski. I've used skis as short as 168 and I'm 6'2".

You will have to adjust your speed on groomers, those shorter skis will be more of a handful at warp speed. However, if you want to learn to ski bumps and trees the shorter length will be a help to start.

I'm sure others will chime in, and not knowing too much about those Atomics I won't say anymore. I think you'll be OK.

Oh, and pick up a copy of the book "Everything the Instructors Never Told You About Mogul Skiing" at www.learnmoguls.com to improve your bump skills.

Greg

Staff member