• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

sundown, crotched, other lesser crowded areas

tmcc71

ski sundown, crotched

I love skiing, but hate crowds. I have traveled far and wide to find less crowded slopes with favorable conditions. Last year I discovered Tenney, Ascutney, Berkshire east and Magic. i loved them all but Tenney and Ascutney are closing. Next season i need a few more go to resorts within 2.5 hours drive time from Central Ma (worcester). I stay away from Saturdays mid season. How are the Sundays at Ski Sundown and Crotched? Any other suggestions for a reasonably uncrowded mountain within range? I am an expert skier and will usually be accompanied by by intermediate girlfriend. Thanks in advance. Tim

roark

Sundays shouldn't be too bad, but you'll likely be bored at Crotched. Best for weeknights if you're close enough (wa too crowded I guess? - crowds aren't too bad at Crotched once the schoolbuses leave), but not really enough of a destination for an expert skier on the weekend. Crotched is also very good for park rats (no half pipe, but they dedicate 2 runs to park - the midseason one has some medium to large hits). A similar drive from Worcester is Pat's, which does at least have a couple steeper pitches (FIS). And beer is served is a glass rather than plastic ;)

An overwhelming contingent of AZers ski Sundown, I'll defer.

Greg

Staff member
Sundown is small, but has decent lift capacity for a hill it's size (two triples to the top). Still, Sundays mid-season can be pretty crowded. The mountain puts on a lot of events which draw a lot of people, families, etc. By March the crowds thin out. I would suggest mid-March once Gunbarrel is bumped up and the crowds have thinned.

bvibert

Staff member