• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Stowe 2-6-2011

deadheadskier

Staff member
Date(s) Skied: Sunday, February 6th, 2011

Resort or Ski Area: Stowe Mountain

Conditions: 10 inches of dense Powder overnight, windy up top, poor visibility at times

Trip Report:

Woke up in Stowe to 10 inches of heavy dense Pow. Anticipation was high from the night before as I haven't caught a powder day at Stowe the past couple of years I've been up. As a former resident, my trips there are planned around social events (in this case a Superbowl party) as they are around the skiing. Lucked out this time.

A quick call at 6:30 this morning revealed they would be starting the day on windhold except for the triple, but would open up all lifts eventually throughout the day. If you've never been to Stowe on a weekend powder, people line up for the quad often as early as 7AM for the 7:30 opening. I figured I'd get there just a hair later than normal and wait for the Quad. Bad move. I pulled into the lot at 7:20 and the Quad was sending up it's first riders.

I booted up quickly and headed to the ticket window. Only 1 window open outside and 1 inside, both with 30 people at it. I waited almost 25 minutes just to buy a ticket. To me, this is unacceptable for Stowe. They market and price themselves as the elite destination in the east. With that a certain level of service is expected. Everyone in line was furious.

Anyways, 15 minute wait in the singles line and I was on my way.

Started my day out on Lookout. Maybe a dozen or so folks had hit prior, so still plenty of untracked:

stowe_2-6_002.jpg

Over to Enterprise next where I did score first tracks:

stowe_2-6_003.jpg

Into Hayride woods next.

stowe_2-6_004.jpg