• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

No fool like an old fool.

P

Paulthenurse

So my daughters and I have a long tradition of "sugar coating" each other when we ski. The game is, you don't want to be the first one to stop, because the person uphill is going to spray you with snow. The harder you brake off, the more snow you shoot in the air and "sugar coat" the one who made the mistake of stopping downhill. And of course, it's my first time skiing this year and I forget and stop a few hundred yards down from the top and she totally covers me. I mean, i'm a snowman! And she is laughing her head off because she got me so good, and I lose my balance and fall over! Now she's killing herself laughing. How much of a loser am I, I fall over while standing still on a green lift run? I would have laughed at me too, if I wasn't so redfaced.

So I get up and promise her that payback is a real bummer, and take off down the hill. I get about halfway down and I come to the entrance to the snowboard play area. (We were at Wachusetts, my first time there. A fun little hill, nothing hard, nice views. Pretty pricey for what it is, but...) So I decide to ski into the playpark. I had checked it out on the chairlift ride up, there were a bunch of pretty good jumps, a few rails off of snowramps and a halfpipe. I ask Beth if she wants to come with me but she just laughs and says she'll head down to warn the ski patrol that they are going to be busy in a few minutes. And deep down inside I know I'm making a mistake, but there is no fool like an old fool. Especially an old fool who doesn't want to admit that he's an old fool.