• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

New to the East Coast, Where to Weekend camp & hike?

H

HikeMike

Hi,

I'm new to Boston (moved from Seattle) and am looking for great places to go for a weekend. Ideally leave Boston Friday afternon, camp out in a tent, and hike Saturday and Sunday. I plan on starting Mem Day weekend so maybe south of MA is necessary to avoid cold weather.

I've been reading the posts and have gotten quite concerned about "biting" black flies (don't have those in Pacifc NW :eek: ) so any comments on how to avoid those is appreciated. (Are they everywhere east coast? :-? )

I know my question spans books, so I'd even appreciate just names of hikes or places to camp.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Mike

Mike P.

Welcome to the Northeast.

Black Flies & Mosquitos are almost everywhere, DEET works, most people can get by with a product with about 30% DEET unless you like camping near swamps. You avoid the worse periods by driving a little bit. Before Memorial Day enough snow & cold in NH, VT & Western ME so they should not be bad. In late June, the black fly season will end in CT & MA before it ends up north. (It starts sooner) Personal experience is that Adirondacks (ADK's) are worse than NH for biting bugs.

What kind of camping & hiking are you looking for? Solitude at all cost or some great mountain scenery perhaps shared with many kindred souls? Either way the most often visited place is teh White Mountain Region of NH. the Appalachian Mountain Club has a guidebook (a new edition coming out next month, EMS - a local retailer similar to REI but without a club has the existing one at 50% off) that is referred to as the White Mountain Bible. You will want one of these.